Members and meetings

Conservancy Board | Advisory Committee | Planning Committee

Conservancy Members 2023-2026

Ann Briggs (Chairman), Hampshire County Council
Pieter Montyn (Vice-Chairman), West Sussex County Council
Jeremy Hunt, West Sussex County Council
Sarah Payne, West Sussex County Council
Donna Johnson, West Sussex County Council
Jackie Branson, Hampshire County Council
Lance Quantrill, Hampshire County Council
Roger Price, Hampshire County Council
Iain Ballantyne, Chichester District Council
Stephen Johnson, Chichester District Council
Lulu Bowerman, Havant Borough Council
Andy Briggs, Havant Borough Council
Robert Macdonald, Advisory Committee
Simon Radford, Advisory Committee

Alison Wakelin, Advisory Committee

* Declarations of interest can be found linked on the relevant members Council webpage.

Forthcoming meetings

The Conservancy meetings are usually held at County Hall, Chichester. Committee meetings start at 2pm. Members of the public must register their interest in attending with the Executive Officer by 12pm on the day of the meeting by emailing

  • For Part 1 items, any member of the public may attend any meeting of the Conservancy as an observer.
  • Since Part 2 items consider confidential matters, any member of public will be required to leave the meeting.

29 April 2024

24 June 2024

5 July 2024

21 October 2024

Past meetings

29 January 2024

13 November 2023

7 July 2023

26 June 2023

24 April 2023

Advisory Committee Members 2022-2025

Alison Wakelin (Chairman) Commercial Interests

Robert Macdonald (Vice-Chairman) Federation of Sailing Clubs
John Goodspeed, Naturalists
Marcus Lawson, Chichester Harbour Federation
Heather Baker, Friends of Chichester Harbour
David Foster, Chichester Harbour Federation
Steven Borland, Wildfowlers
Richard Harmer, Recreational and Sports Anglers
Kate Bull, Natural England
Simon Radford, Chichester Harbour Federation
Nicolette Pike, Chichester District Association of Local Councils
Grant McLaughlin, Professional Boatman’s Association
Jackie Mellan, Environment Agency
Rachel Hodgson, Farming and Landowners
Jane Dodsworth, Havant Residents

Robert Pearson – Sussex Inshore Fishing and Conservation Authorities

One position vacant – RYA

The Advisory Committee meet one week before each Conservancy meeting to consider the Conservancy agenda and papers. These meetings are not open to the public.

Planning Committee members 

Heather Baker, Advisory Committee 
Jane Dodsworth, Advisory Committee
John Goodspeed, Advisory Committee
Nicolette Pike (Chairman), Advisory Committee
Jackie Branson, Conservancy
Pieter Montyn (Vice-Chairman), Conservancy
Iain Ballantyne, Conservancy
Sarah Payne, Conservancy
Lance Quantrill, Conservancy

Three positions vacant, Conservancy

The Planning Committee meetings are usually held at Eames Farm, Thorney Road, Thorney Island, PO10 8DE. Committee meetings start at 10.30am.

• Any member of the public may attend any meeting of the Planning Committee as an observer.
• At the Chairman’s discretion, a member of the public may be allowed to make a short deputation to the Planning Committee.

Members of the public must register their interest in making a deputation with the Executive Officer at least 72 hours before the meeting by emailing The email must clearly indicate the case(s) of interest and a reason for making a deputation (objector, supporter, other). A strict time limit of 3 minutes will be applied.

Terms of Reference for the Planning Committee

Forthcoming meetings

20 May 2024

17 June 2024

15 July 2024

9 September 2024

7 October 2024

25 November 2024

Past meetings

22 April 2024

26 February 2024

22 January 2024 (Cancelled)

11 December 2023

13 November 2023

16 October 2023

4 September 2023 (Cancelled)

18 July 2023

12 June 2023

For papers from earlier meetings, please contact the Harbour Office.